Sunday, 8 November 2015


The Federated States of Micronesiaabbreviated FSM) is an independent sovereign island nation and a United States associated state consisting of four states – from west to east, Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae – that are spread across the Western Pacific Ocean. Together, the states comprise around 607 islands (a combined land area of approximately 702 km2 ) that cover a longitudinal distance of almost 2,700 km just north of the equator. They lie northeast of New Guinea, south of Guam and the Marianas, west of Nauru and the Marshall Islands, east of Palau and the Philippines, about 2,900 km north of eastern Australia and some 4,000 km southwest of the main islands of Hawaii.
While the FSM's total land area is quite small, it occupies more than 2,600,000 km2 of the Pacific Ocean. The capital is Palikir, located on Pohnpei Island, while the largest city is Weno, located in the Chuuk Atoll.

 Beautiful Airmail covers from Micronesia with perfect postmarks ! I have seen several covers from Micronesia but the postmarks were not good or clear. But their philatelic bureau did a good job. The covers posted on October 06,2015 from Kolonia, Pohnpei Island, and I received on Nov 05, 2015. The beautiful flora stamps gifted by my good friend Holger during his visit of my home. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.