Tuesday, 12 July 2016

VANUATU - Ripablik blong Vanuatu / République de Vanuatu

Republic of Vanuatu (French: République de Vanuatu, Bislama: Ripablik blong Vanuatu), is a Pacific island nation located in the South Pacific Ocean. The archipelago, which is of volcanic origin, is some 1,750 kilometres (1,090 mi) east of northern Australia, 540 kilometres (340 mi) northeast of New Caledonia, east of New Guinea, southeast of the Solomon Islands, and west of Fiji.
Vanuatu was first inhabited by Melanesian people. The first Europeans to visit the islands were a Spanish expedition led by Portuguese navigator Fernandes de Queirós, who arrived on the largest island in 1606. He then claimed the archipelago for Spain, as part of the colonial Spanish East Indies, and named it Austrialia del Espiritu Santo.
In the 1880s, France and Great Britain claimed parts of the archipelago, and in 1906 they agreed on a framework for jointly managing the archipelago as the New Hebrides through a British–French Condominium. An independence movement arose in the 1970s, and the Republic of Vanuatu was founded in 1980.

These two beautiful covers sent from Vanuatu on June 20, 2016 and I received on July 12, 2016. Vanuatu issues beautiful thematic stamps every year. These covers came back with special postmark too. The philatelic service of Vanuatu Post is highly appreciated. Thank You Sam for the perfect covers from Vanuatu.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.