Tuesday, 1 December 2015

Republic of Iraq - Jumhūrīyat al-‘Irāq - Komar-i ‘Êraq

The Republic of Iraq is a country in Western Asia. The country borders Turkey to the north, Iran to the east, Kuwait to the southeast, Saudi Arabia to the south, Jordan to the southwest, and Syria to the west. The southern part of Iraq is within the Arabian Peninsula. The capital, Baghdad, is in the centre of the country and its largest city. The largest ethnic groups in Iraq are Arabs and Kurds. 
Iraq has a narrow section of coastline measuring 58 km (36 mi) on the northern Persian Gulf and its territory encompasses the Mesopotamian Alluvial Plain, the northwestern end of the Zagros mountain range, and the eastern part of the Syrian Desert.Two major rivers, the Tigris and Euphrates, run south through the centre of Iraq and flow into the Shatt al-Arab near the Persian Gulf. These rivers provide Iraq with significant amounts of fertile land.  The region between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, historically known as Mesopotamia, is most often referred to as humanity's cradle of civilisation. It was here that mankind first began to read, write, create laws, and live in cities under an organised government—notably Uruk, from which Iraq was derived. The area has been home to continuous successive civilisations since the 6th millennium BC.

Two beautiful covers sent by Dr.Mohanad from Iraq, the first one is with 2012 Arab postal day joint issue stamps. I have collected all 12 countries issued Arab Postal Day 2012 on covers. Thank You Mohanad for the nice covers.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.