Friday, 18 December 2015


Jan Mayen is a volcanic island in the Arctic Ocean and a part of the Kingdom of Norway. It is 55 km (34 mi) long (southwest-northeast) and 373 km2 (144 sq mi) in area, partly covered by glaciers (an area of 114.2 km (71.0 mi) around the Beerenberg volcano). It has two parts: larger northeast Nord-Jan and smaller Sør-Jan, linked by a 2.5 km (1.6 mi) wide isthmus. It lies 600 km (370 mi) northeast of Iceland (495 km (305 mi) NE of Kolbeinsey), 500 km (310 mi) east of central Greenland and 1,000 km (620 mi) west of the North Cape, Norway. The island is mountainous, the highest summit being the Beerenberg volcano in the north. The isthmus is the location of the two largest lakes of the island, Sørlaguna (South Lagoon), and Nordlaguna (North Lagoon). A third lake is called Ullerenglaguna (Ullereng Lagoon). Jan Mayen was formed by the Jan Mayen hotspot.
Although administered separately, Svalbard and Jan Mayen are collectively assigned the ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code "SJ".

This is another beautiful cover sent from Jan Mayen by my very good friend Rune berg from Norway. The cover posted on and i received in my hands on September 19, 2016. Thank You Rune for the big help !

Jan Mayen is an exotic place for philatelists because it is an uninhabited island still it has a post office for philatelists!. The have perfect postmarks as you see in the picture. Norway issued only one stamp with name of Jan Mayen, in 1956. I am waiting for another cover with that stamp, postmarked from Jan Mayen post office. This beautiful cover is arranged by my good friend Holger Kaufhold with most suitable stamps from Svalbard Island of Norway. Thank You Holger for the beautiful cover.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.