Monday, 5 October 2015


The Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) is a part of Antarctica. It was claimed by the United Kingdom and placed under the authority of the Commonwealth of Australia in 1933. It is the largest territory of Antarctica claimed by any nation. In 1961, the Antarctic Treaty came into force. Article 4 deals with territorial claims, and although it does not renounce or diminish any preexisting claims to sovereignty, it also does not prejudice the position of Contracting Parties in their recognition or non-recognition of territorial sovereignty. As a result, only four other states recognise Australia's claim to sovereignty in Antarctica.

Beautiful airmail covers from Australian Antarctic Territory Stations. There is no direct postal service from AAT region, but there is a good philatelic bureau with beautiful AAT stamps in Canberra . AAT stamps are valid for postage international. They issue many thematic stamps every year and sold via Australian Philatelic Bureau. This cover has postmark related to Macquarie Island which is a bireserve area of AAT. 

My another nice cover from Cape Denison Base with Icebergs stamps. There is a special postmark with Ice mountains and penguins.

This AAT cover is with Davis postmark which is the capital region of Australian Antarctic Territory. You can see a special pictorial postmark on the stamps from Davis.

This is another beautiful cover from AAT with Mawson Permanent base station special postmark.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.