Thursday, 13 August 2015

CHILE - JUAN FERNANDEZ ISLANDS ( Archipiélago Juan Fernández )

The Juan Fernández Islands (Spanish: Archipiélago Juan Fernández) are a sparsely inhabited island group reliant on tourism and fishing in the South Pacific Ocean. Situated 670 km  off the coast of Chile, they are composed of three main volcanic islands: Robinson Crusoe, Alejandro Selkirk and Santa Clara.
The islands are primarily known for having been the home to the marooned sailor Alexander Selkirk for more than four years from 1704, which may have inspired Daniel Defoe's Robinson Crusoe. Most of the archipelago's present-day inhabitants reside on Robinson Crusoe Island, mainly in the capital, San Juan Bautista, at Cumberland Bay on the island's north coast.
The group of islands are part of Chile's Valparaíso Region (which also includes Easter Island), and along with the Desventuradas Islands, form one of the nine communes of Valparaíso Province named Juan Fernández.

One of the gems in my cover collection - Registered airmail cover from the remote island group of Chile called Juan Fernandez Archepelago , popularly known as Robinson Crusoe Islands. My good friend Alexis Mira from Chile once gifted a set of 8 stamps related to Juan Fernandez, issued in the occasion of 425th anniversary . He said it is far from mainland and there is a post office too with special postmark. After a long waiting i received the cover in perfect condition as registered too. ( the down part of the stamps i shared with my very good friend Holger Kaufhold, he also received the cover in perfect condition)  Thank You very much for the post office staff for the great work done for me.

You can see a special postmark affixed on the backside of the cover too. The frontside one is with the picture of Lobster, one of the main income of the islanders. they harvest them and export.

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.