Saturday, 18 July 2015

TURKISH REP.OF NORTHERN CYPRUS ( Kuzey Kıbrıs Türk Cumhuriyeti )

Northern Cyprus (Turkish: Kuzey Kıbrıs), officially the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC; Turkish: Kuzey Kıbrıs Türk Cumhuriyeti), is a self-declared state that comprises the northeastern portion of the island of Cyprus. Recognised only by Turkey Northern Cyprus is considered by the international community to be part of the Republic of Cyprus.
Northern Cyprus extends from the tip of the Karpass Peninsula in the northeast to Morphou Bay, Cape Kormakitis and its westernmost point, the Kokkina exclave in the west. Its southernmost point is the village of Louroujina. A buffer zone under the control of the United Nations stretches between Northern Cyprus and the rest of the island and divides Nicosia, the island's largest city and capital of both states.
A coup d'état in 1974, an attempt to annex the island to Greece, prompted the Turkish invasion of Cyprus. This resulted in the eviction of much of the north's Greek Cypriot population, the flight of Turkish Cypriots from the south, and the partitioning of the island, leading to a unilateral declaration of independence by the North in 1983. Due to its lack of recognition, Northern Cyprus is heavily dependent on Turkey for economic, political and military support.

Beautiful Registered Airmail cover from Northern Cyprus. This is a disputed area, so a little difficult to get covers from here. I had received two more covers before from a Turkish Friend Filiz, but it was not in my own format. They issue limited stamps but most of them are attractive. The international mails handled by Turkey via Mersin port, so the letters with TRNC stamps travelling worldwide without objections. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.