Thursday, 13 July 2017


Officially the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI;Chamorro: Sankattan Siha Na Islas Mariånas), is one of five inhabited American insular areas. It is one of two territories with US "commonwealth" status; the other is Puerto Rico. It consists of fifteen islands in the northwestern Pacific Ocean. The CNMI and Guam together comprise the Marianas archipelago.
The United States Department of the Interior cites a landmass of 183.5 square miles (475.26 km2). According to the 2010 United States Census, 53,883 people were living in the CNMI at that time. The vast majority of the population resides on SaipanTinian, and Rota. The other islands of the Northern Marianas are sparsely inhabited; the most notable among these is Pagan, which for various reasons over the centuries has experienced major population flux but has formerly had residents numbering in the thousands.
The administrative center is Capitol Hill, a village in northwestern Saipan. Because the island is governed as a single municipality, most publications consider Saipan the capital.

These beautiful covers posted from Saipan on jUNE 21, 2017 and received in my hands on jULY 05, 2017. These Islands are very remote in pacific Ocean, I felt it is a big treasure when the covers reached in my hand as perfect. On the first cover you can see the name of the state is written and the flag too. My plan is to collect covers from all US regions with 'flag of our nation' series stamps and hand cancellation. Thank You Holger for the flag stamps.

This is Saipan post office in Northern Marianas. You can see the old USPS logo on the wall.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.