Tuesday, 4 October 2016


The Chilean Antarctic Territory or Chilean Antarctica (Spanish: Territorio Chileno Antártico, Antártica Chilena) is the territory in Antarctica claimed by Chile. The Chilean Antarctic Territory ranges from 53°W to 90°W and from the South Pole to 60°S, partially overlapping the Argentine and British Antarctic claims. It is administered by the Cabo de Hornos municipality in the South American mainland.
The territory claimed by Chile covers the South Shetland Islands, Antarctic Peninsula, called "O'Higgins Land" ("Tierra de O'Higgins" in Spanish) in Chile, and adjacent islands, the Alexander Island, Charcot Island, and part of the Ellsworth Land, among others.
Within Chilean territorial organization Antártica is the name of the commune that administers the territory. The comune of Antártica is managed by the municipality of Cabo de Hornos with seat in Puerto Williams and belongs to Antártica Chilena Province, which is part of Magallanes y la Antártica Chilena Region. The commune of Antártica was created on July 11, 1961, and was dependent on the Magallanes Province until 1975, when the Antártica Chilena Province was created, making it dependent administratively on Puerto Williams, the province capital.

This airmail cover is posted  by David Langan from the President Eduard Antarctic Base station of Chile on April 18, 2018 and arrived on June 10, 2018

This rare and beautiful cover came from Antarctic region post office of Chile, called as Chilean Antarctic Territory. The cover took almost 18 months to came back in my hands. The cover posted on April 04, 2016, and I received in my hands on September 15, 2016. Thank You very much the Chile Postal service for the big help.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.