Saturday, 24 February 2018

INGUSHETIA - Republic of Ingushetia / Республика Ингушетия / Гӏалгӏай Мохк

The Republic of Ingushetia (Russian: Респу́блика Ингуше́тия, Ingush: Гӏалгӏай Мохк / Ğalğaj Moxk), also referred to as simply Ingushetia, is a federal subject of Russia (a republic), located in the North Caucasus region.
Its capital is the town of Magas. At 3,000 square km, in terms of area, the republic is the smallest of Russia's federal subjects except for the federal cities. It was established on June 4, 1992, after the Chechen-Ingush Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic was split in two. The republic is home to the indigenous Ingush, a people of Vainakh ancestry.
Ingushetia is situated on the northern slopes of the Caucasus. Its area is reported by various sources as either 2,000 square kilometers (770 sq mi) or 3,600 square kilometers (1,400 sq mi); the difference in reporting is mainly due to the inclusion or exclusion of parts of Sunzhensky Districts. The republic borders the Republic of North Ossetia–Alania (SW/W/NW/N), the Chechen Republic (NE/E/SE), and the country of Georgia (southwards). The highest point is the Gora Shan (4451 m). A 150-kilometer (93 mi) stretch of the Caucasus Mountains runs through the territory of the republic.

Airmail envelopes posted from Magas, the capital city of Republic of Ingushetia. The covers posted on December 12, 2017 and delivered on December 29,2017. The Miniature sheet is illustrated with the national flag and coat arm of Ingushetia. In 2017, there is a stamp issued by Russian post to commemorate the event of 25th anniversary of Republic of Ingushetia. The covers sent by Aina. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.