Saturday, 17 September 2016

TONGA - KINGDOM OF TONGA / Puleʻanga Fakatuʻi ʻo Tonga

Tonga Tongan: Puleʻanga Fakatuʻi ʻo Tonga), officially the Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state and archipelago comprising 169 islands of which 36 islands are inhabited. The total surface area is about 750 square kilometres (290 sq mi) scattered over 700,000 square kilometres (270,000 sq mi) of the southern Pacific Ocean. It has a population 103,000 people of whom 70% reside on the main island of Tongatapu.
Tonga stretches over about 800 kilometres (500 mi) in a north-south line – about a third of the distance from New Zealand to Hawaii. It is surrounded by Fiji and Wallis and Futuna (France) to the northwest, Samoa to the northeast, Niue to the east, Kermadec (part of New Zealand) to the southwest, and New Caledonia (France) and Vanuatu to the farther west.

This beautiful registered cover sent by Kava from Tonga Post, Nuku' Alofa, the capital city of Tonga. The island nation previously known as Toga, and they issued beautiful thematic stamps too. The covers posted on August 29, 2016 and I received them in my hands on September 19, 2016. Thank You Kava for the big help.
Tonga was the last missing country from my Pacific region. Now I completed all countries and autonomous regions from pacific zone.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.