Wednesday, 13 January 2016

TAIWAN - Republic of China / 中華民國 / Zhōnghuá Mínguó

Officially the Republic of China (ROC; Chinese: 中華民國;pinyin: Zhōnghuá Mínguó), is a sovereign state in East Asia. The Republic of China, originally based in mainland China, now governs the island of Taiwan, which constitutes more than 99% of its territory, as well as Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu, and other minor islands, following its loss of the mainland China territory in 1949 in the Chinese Civil War. This remaining area is also constitutionally called the "Free area of the Republic of China" which is free from Communist rule.
Neighboring states include the People's Republic of China (PRC) to the west (mainland China), Japan to the east and northeast, and the Philippines to the south. Taiwan is one of the most densely populated countries in the world with a population density of 648 people per km2 in July 2015.Taipei is the seat of the central government, and together with the surrounding cities of New Taipei and Keelung forms the largest metropolitan area on the island.

Taiwan, even though it is an independent country, there is a dispute between China and Taiwan. So previously on their stamps the country name written as 'Republic of China'. later They started to use 'Republic of China (Taiwan)' . in 2010 They started to issue stamps as 'Taiwan' but because of Objection from China, now they issue stamps as 'Republic of China (Taiwan)'. Here You can see the stamps as 'Taiwan' , so i feel this is the perfect cover with real country name . My good friend Zhan Yi sent me this cover from Taipei with perfect postmarks. The cover posted on July 05, 2013 and I received on July 15, 2013. Thank You Zhan Yi for the perfect cover.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.